Writing and Publishing

Publishing is the scary, daunting part of writing. It’s sort of like college, in that you freak out over applying and hope with all your might that you get accepted. Then once you are accepted it’s not as cool as you expected since you aren’t one of the big names on campus. Since the acceptance process is grueling and I’m certainly not a big name, I’ve decided to put publishing out of mind for a while to focus on writing without the pressure. With that (and a few other things) in mind, I now have a daily schedule that includes an hour of writing time. I’m making a rule for myself that, at bare minimum, I HAVE to write for the entire hour – even if it’s pure drivel. Wish me luck!

Published in: on September 5, 2008 at 1:18 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://anallusivefigure.wordpress.com/2008/09/05/writing-and-publishing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good luck! I think it’s a great idea to write what you want without pressure. It’s the best way to fulfill one’s creativity and one usually writes better! Plus look how well Pure Drivel worked out for Steve Martin 😉

  2. I am totally behind you.

  3. Hope – That’s true. Unfortunately my “pure drivel” isn’t nearly as entertaining…

    Ren – Thanks, sweetie!

  4. Good luck! I think it’s great what you’re doing. Writing without the added pressures is the most enjoyable for the writer and reader.

    K.C.D
    http://thewritingsofkcd.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

